Go United Arab Emirates

United Arab Emirates

The Trucial States of the Persian Gulf coast granted the UK control of their defense and foreign affairs in 19th century treaties. In 1971, six of these states - Abu Zaby, 'Ajman, Al Fujayrah, Ash Shariqah, Dubayy, and Umm al Qaywayn - merged to form the United Arab Emirates (UAE). They were joined in 1972 by Ra's al Khaymah.

Key Facts:

  • Location: Middle East, bordering the Gulf of Oman and the Persian Gulf, between Oman and Saudi Arabia 
  • Geographic coordinates: 24 00 N, 54 00 E  Map references: Middle East 
  • Area: total: 82,880 sq km = Land boundaries: total: 867 km + Coastline: 1,318 km 
  • Climate: desert; cooler in eastern mountains  - Terrain: flat, barren coastal plain merging into rolling sand dunes of vast desert wasteland; mountains in east 
  • Elevation extremes: lowest point: Persian Gulf 0 m, highest point: Jabal Yibir 1,527 m 
  • Natural resources: petroleum, natural gas 
  • Land use: arable land: 0.48%, Irrigated land: 720 sq km
  • Natural hazards: frequent sand and dust storms 
  • Population: 2,484,818
  • Nationality: noun: Emirati(s) adjective: Emirati  Ethnic groups: Emirati 19%, other Arab and Iranian 23%, South Asian 50%, other expatriates (includes Westerners and East Asians) 8% (1982) note: less than 20% are UAE citizens
  • Religions: Muslim 96% (Shi'a 16%), Christian, Hindu, and other 4% 
  • Languages: Arabic (official), Persian, English, Hindi, Urdu 
  • Literacy: 77.9% of total population definition: age 15 and over can read and write

Nation Information:

  • Country name: conventional long form: United Arab Emirates, local long form: Al Imarat al Arabiyah al Muttahidah, abbreviation: UAE, former: Trucial Oman, Trucial States, local short form: none 
  • Government type: federation with specified powers delegated to the UAE federal government and other powers reserved to member emirates 
  • Capital: Abu Dhabi 
  • Administrative divisions: 7 emirates (imarat, singular - imarah); Abu Zaby (Abu Dhabi), 'Ajman, Al Fujayrah, Ash Shariqah (Sharjah), Dubayy (Dubai), Ra's al Khaymah, Umm al Qaywayn 

Updated On: 15.02.12